Mesa Journeys

 

GIVE TO MESA

work experience

WORK EXPERIENCE CLASSES:

Students can choose from a variety of Work Experience courses that may be related to an occupational/educational goal. Review the Mesa College Catalog to determine if Work Experience is required for your degree/certificate program.

Work experience credit is earned based on 75 hours of paid work/internship or 60 hours of unpaid work/internship per unit the student is enrolled. Students may take Work Experience up to 16 units total - Check with your specific program or a Counselor as to how many units will apply towards your degree requirements.

WORK EXPERIENCE COURSE OPTIONS: 

Earn college credit for work/internships (in or out of your field of study)
Paid, unpaid, or volunteer placements are eligible
Many Work Experience courses are  associated with certificate and degree requirements
CSU-Transferable - Complete and use units towards transfer requirements

GENERAL WORK EXPERIENCE EDUCATION (WORK 272):
Supervised employment which is intended to assist students in acquiring desirable work habits, attitudes and career awareness. The Work experience does not have to be related to the students' educational goal (Title 5 section 55252)

OCCUPATIONAL WORK EXPERIENCE EDUCATION (270):
Supervised employment extending classroom based occupational learning at an on-the-job learning station relating to the students' educational or occupational goal. Work Experience 270 can be discipline specific (Title 5 section 55252)

Have an internship, job, or volunteer position secured and want to receive college credit for your hands-on experience? Complete the Work Experience Application to be considered for enrollment this semester and recieve an ADD/permission number to enroll. 

Questions? Please contact the Work Experience Coordinator, Shawn Fawcett, at sfawcett@sdccd.edu for more information. 

SUMMER 2021 WORK EXPERIENCE CLASS SCHEDULE:

WE Course Units WE Instructor Class # Class Dates Minimum WE Hours WE Faculty Email
CACM 270 2 Tonya Whitfield 60932 5 WK: 6/7 - 7/31/21 120 unpaid | 150 paid mfitzger@sdccd.edu
EXSC 270 4 Kelsey Graham 62054 8 WK: 6/21 - 8/14/21 240 unpaid | 300 paid mgeorge@sdccd.edu
FASH 270 2 Anna Marie Phillips 60931 10 WK: 6/7 - 8/14/21 120 unpaid | 150 paid aphillips@sdccd.edu
FASH 270 3 Anna Marie Phillips 62055 8 WK: 6/21 - 8/14/21 180 unpaid | 225 paid aphillips@sdccd.edu
GISG 270 2 Rachel Russell 60527 10 WK: 6/7 - 8/14/21 120 unpaid | 150 paid rrussell@sdccd.edu
HOSP 270 1 Adirienne Lizano 61690 10 WK: 6/7 - 8/14/21 60 unpaid | 75 paid alizano@sdccd.edu
HOSP 270 2 Adirienne Lizano 61691 10 WK: 6/7 - 8/14/21 120 unpaid | 150 paid alizano@sdccd.edu
HOSP 270 3 Adirienne Lizano 60570 10 WK: 6/7 - 8/14/21 180 unpaid | 225 paid alizano@sdccd.edu
INTE 270 3 Jeff Hines 60531 10 WK: 6/7 - 8/14/21 180 unpaid | 225 paid jhines@sdccd.edu
INTE 270 4 Jeff Hines 60530 10 WK: 6/7 - 8/14/21 240 unpaid | 300 paid jhines@sdccd.edu
WORK 270 1 Pavel Consuegra 60569 8 WK: 6/21 - 8/14/21 60 unpaid | 75 paid pconsuegra@sdcc.edu
WORK 270 2 Shawn Fawcett 60933 8 WK: 6/21 - 8/14/21 120 unpaid | 150 paid sfawcett@sdccd.edu
WORK 270 3 Melanie Baeza-McCray 60919 8 WK: 6/21 - 8/14/21 180 unpaid | 225 paid mbaeza@sdccd.edu