Mesa Journeys

 

GIVE TO MESA

work experience

WORK EXPERIENCE CLASSES:

Students can choose from a variety of Work Experience courses that may be related to an occupational/educational goal. Review the Mesa College Catalog to determine if Work Experience is required for your degree/certificate program.

Work experience credit is earned based on 75 hours of paid work/internship or 60 hours of unpaid work/internship per unit the student is enrolled. Students may take Work Experience up to 16 units total - Check with your specific program or a Counselor as to how many units will apply towards your degree requirements.

WORK EXPERIENCE COURSE OPTIONS: 

Earn college credit for work/internships (in or out of your field of study)
Paid, unpaid, or volunteer placements are eligible
Many Work Experience courses are  associated with certificate and degree requirements
CSU-Transferable - Complete and use units towards transfer requirements

GENERAL WORK EXPERIENCE EDUCATION (WORK 272):
Supervised employment which is intended to assist students in acquiring desirable work habits, attitudes and career awareness. The Work experience does not have to be related to the students' educational goal (Title 5 section 55252)

OCCUPATIONAL WORK EXPERIENCE EDUCATION (270):
Supervised employment extending classroom based occupational learning at an on-the-job learning station relating to the students' educational or occupational goal. Work Experience 270 can be discipline specific (Title 5 section 55252)

Have an internship, job, or volunteer position secured and want to receive college credit for your hands-on experience? Complete the Work Experience Application to be considered for enrollment this semester and recieve an ADD/permission number to enroll. 

Questions? Please contact the Work Experience Coordinator, Shawn Fawcett, at sfawcett@sdccd.edu for more information. 

SPRING 2023 WORK EXPERIENCE CLASS SCHEDULE:

Course Units # WE Hours Instructor Weeks Start Date End Date Class # Instructor Email
BUSE 270
(Small Business Virtual Incubator ONLY)
1 60 Unpaid 75 Paid Eddie Landeros 16 1/30/23 5/27/23 26493 elanderos@sdccd.edu
CACM 270 1 60 Unpaid 75 Paid Domini Renda 14 2/21/23 5/27/23 26195 drenda@sdccd.edu
CHIL 270 2 120 Unpaid 150 Paid Maria George 16 1/30/23 5/27/23 20518 mgeorge@sdccd.edu
CHIL 270 3 180 Unpaid 225 Paid Maria George 16 1/30/23 5/27/23 21737 mgeorge@sdccd.edu
CHIL 270 4 240 Unpaid 300 Paid Maria George 16 1/30/23 5/27/23 21738 mgeorge@sdccd.edu
CISC 270 3 180 Unpaid 225 Paid Allan Schougaard 16 1/30/23 5/27/23 26199 aschouga@sdccd.edu
EXSC 270 1 60 Unpaid 75 Paid Careth Herron 16 1/30/23 5/27/23 20956 cherron@sdccd.edu
EXSC 270 1 60 Unpaid 75 Paid Careth Herron 14 2/13/23 5/27/23 21353 cherron@sdccd.edu
FASH 270 2 120 Unpaid 150 Paid Anna Marie Phillips 16 1/30/23 5/27/23 20964 aphillips@sdccd.edu
FASH 270 3 180 Unpaid 225 Paid Liese Hoffmire 16 1/30/23 5/27/23 21331 lhoffmire@sdccd.edu
FASH 270 2 120 Unpaid 150 Paid Anna Marie Phillips 12 2/27/23 5/27/23 26215 aphillips@sdccd.edu
GIS 270 2 120 Unpaid 150 Paid Rachel Russell 16 1/30/23 5/27/23 20957 rrussell@sdccd.edu
GIS 270 3 180 Unpaid 225 Paid Rachel Russell 16 1/30/23 5/27/23 21411 rrussell@sdccd.edu
GIS 270 4 240 Unpaid 300 Paid Rachel Russell 16 1/30/23 5/27/23 26219 rrussell@sdccd.edu
HOSP 270 1 60 Unpaid 75 Paid Adrian Lizano 16 1/30/23 5/27/23 21601 alizano@sdccd.edu
HOSP 270 2 120 Unpaid 150 Paid Adrian Lizano 16 1/30/23 5/27/23 21602 alizano@sdccd.edu
HOSP 270 3 180 Unpaid 225 Paid Adrian Lizano 16 1/30/23 5/27/23 20960 alizano@sdccd.edu
INTE 270 3 180 Unpaid 225 Paid Jeff Hines 16 1/30/23 5/27/23 20962 jhines@sdccd.edu
INTE 270 4 240 Unpaid 300 Paid Jeff Hines 16 1/30/23 5/27/23 21219 jhines@sdccd.edu
NUTR 270 1 60 Unpaid 75 Paid Kylee Scholar 16 1/30/23 5/27/23 21739 kscholar@sdccd.edu
NUTR 270 2 120 Unpaid 150 Paid Kylee Scholar 16 1/30/23 5/27/23 21603 kscholar@sdccd.edu
NUTR 270 3 180 Unpaid 225 Paid Kylee Scholar 16 1/30/23 5/27/23 26225 kscholar@sdccd.edu
NUTR 270 4 240 Unpaid 300 Paid Kylee Scholar 16 1/30/23 5/27/23 26227 kscholar@sdccd.edu
SUST 270 1 60 Unpaid 75 Paid Becca Arnold 14 2/13/23 5/27/23 21604 beccaa@proton.me
SUST 270 2 120 Unpaid 150 Paid Becca Arnold 14 2/13/23 5/27/23 21605 beccaa@proton.me
SUST 270 3 180 Unpaid 225 Paid Kayla Gorman 14 2/13/23 5/27/23 21606 kgorman@sdccd.edu
VTAH 270 2 120 Unpaid 150 Paid Dana McNabb 16 1/30/23 5/27/23 21308 dkbrunette8@gmail.com
WORK 270
(CCAP Hoover HS ONLY)
1 60 Unpaid 75 Paid Mark Manasse 13 2/21/23 5/27/23 26303 mmanasse@sdccd.edu
WORK 270
(CCAP Hoover HS ONLY)
1 60 Unpaid 75 Paid Laurie Iunker 13 2/21/23 5/27/23 16461  
WORK 270 1 60 Unpaid 75 Paid Pavel Consuegra 20 1/3/23 5/27/23 26395 pconsuegra@sdccd.edu
WORK 270
(VIP Students ONLY)
1 60 Unpaid 75 Paid Pavel Consuegra 16 1/30/23 5/27/23 21377 pconsuegra@sdccd.edu
WORK 270 1 60 Unpaid 75 Paid Pavel Consuegra 16 1/30/23 5/27/23 26494 pconsuegra@sdccd.edu
WORK 270
(MIP Students ONLY)
1 60 Unpaid 75 Paid Pavel Consuegra 14 2/13/23 5/27/23 26299 pconsuegra@sdccd.edu
WORK 270 2 120 Unpaid 150 Paid Adrian Lizano 16 1/30/23 5/27/23 21633 liunker@sdccd.edu
WORK 270 3 180 Unpaid 225 Paid Pavel Consuegra 16 1/30/23 5/27/23 21634 pconsuegra@sdccd.edu
WORK 270 4 240 Unpaid 300 Paid Adrian Lizano 16 1/30/23 5/27/23 26300 alizano@sdccd.edu
WORK 270 3 180 Unpaid 225 Paid Adrian Lizano 12 2/27/23 5/27/23 26301 alizano@sdccd.edu
WORK 270 1 60 Unpaid 75 Paid Adrian Lizano 8 4/3/23 5/27/23 21420 alizano@sdccd.edu
WORK 272 2 120 Unpaid 150 Paid Adrian Lizano 16 1/30/23 5/27/23 26302 alizano@sdccd.edu
WORK 272 1 60 Unpaid 75 Paid Adrian Lizano 12 2/27/23 5/27/23 21636 alizano@sdccd.edu